Tuesday, February 13, 2024


A proposal, sponsored by lawmaker Oluwole Oke representing Obokun/Oriade Federal Constituency, Osun State, is set for introduction in the House of Representatives. 

The legislation aims to establish three new states in the South-West: Oke-Ogun, Ijebu, and Ife-Ijesa. Named "A Bill for an Act to modify the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as revised)," it seeks changes to the First Schedule, Part I, including adding new states and adjusting local government areas. 

Oke-Ogun State would comprise 12 LGAs with Iseyin as its capital. Ijebu State would include eight LGAs with Ijebu Ode as its capital, while Ife-Ijesa State would consist of 11 LGAs with its capital yet to be designated. 

In a letter dated February 6, 2024, addressed to the Clerk of the House, Oke forwarded the bill for further legislative action.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Download our app