Wednesday, March 1, 2023


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced that Bola Tinubu, the candidate from Nigeria's ruling party, the APC, has won the presidential election held on Saturday. Mr. Tinubu defeated 17 other candidates, receiving a total of 8,794,726 votes, which is the highest of all the candidates. He won in Rivers, Borno, Jigawa, Zamfara, Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Niger, Osun, Ekiti, Ondo, Oyo, and Ogun states. This number of votes met the first constitutional requirement for Mr. Tinubu to be declared the winner of the election. He also scored over 25% of the votes cast in 30 states, which is more than the 24 states constitutionally required.

Atiku Abubakar from the PDP came in second in the election with a total of 6,984,520 votes, while Peter Obi of the Labour Party came third with a total of 6,101,533 votes, and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the NNPP came fourth with 1,496,687 votes.

Winning a majority of states is not a requirement for a candidate to be declared the winner of the election. Each of Mr. Tinubu, Atiku, and Obi won in 12 states, while Mr. Kwankwaso won only in Kano. INEC Chairman Mahmood Yakubu announced the final results in the early hours of Wednesday in Abuja and said that a Certificate of Return for the President and Vice President would be presented at the National Collation Centre on Wednesday at 3 p.m.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Download our app