Wednesday, October 28, 2020



The Nigeria ex-finance Minister Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala has finally elected as director general of the World Trade Organisation (WTO).

She emerged winner of the highly competitive race.

1. Okonjo-Iweala (Nigeria) — 104 votes.

2. Yoo Myung-hee, (S/Korea) — 53 votes. 

The 27 European Union member states have backed Nigeria’s former finance minister, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, in her bid to become the first African and first female director-general of the World Trade Organisation. The EU member states are France, Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

Few countries did not vote for either candidate. 

Dr Okonjo-Iweala will be Unveiled as the new WTO Director General by first week of November.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Download our app