Sunday, December 16, 2018


Alex Iwobi was named in the final 10-man shortlist for the African Footballer of the Year for 2018 but alongside some Egyptian football stars such as Mohamed Salah and Walid Soliman. Iwobi has been outstanding for Arsenal and Nigeria in 2018.  The 22-year-old played a key role in the Super Eagles qualification for the World Cup in Russia and has helped steer his country to top Group E in qualifying for next year’s African Cup of Nations.


Iwobi has been in sparkling for the Gunners under new boss Unai Emery and was rewarded with a new five-year deal in the summer. Liverpool’s winger Salah, who claimed the title of the best African player last season, led Liverpool to the 2018 Champions League final, where they lost to Real Madrid. He has also given a superb performance so far this season, and Liverpool are in the driving seat of the English Premier League as well as having booked a place in the UEFA Champions League last 16.


Ahly’s winger Walid Soliman is the Red Devils’ talisman in the African Champions League, although his club lost the final to Tunisian side Esperance. “The shortlisted nominees were decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee,” read a statement on the CAF official website.


“The final phase will involve votes from CAF media experts, legends, coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, and coaches & captains of the 54 member associations. The Awards Gala, to honour footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the year under review, will be held on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal,” the statement added.


The list also includes CAF Champions League champion Esperance’s Anice Badri, Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Leicester City’s Riyad Mahrez, and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane. Below is the list of nominees for the ‘African Footballer of the Year’ category of the 2018 AITEO CAF Awards:

African Player of the Year
1. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
2. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
3. Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
4. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
5. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
6. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
7. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
8. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
9. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
10. Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Download our app