Saturday, February 1, 2020


The United States Department of Homeland  Security (DHS) was on Friday, January 31, 2020 announced the temporary travel restrictions on six countries including Nigeria.

The suspension shall commence on February 21, 2020. Nigeria restriction is the suspension of the issuance of "migrant visas" to only Nigerian passport holders. This restriction does not affect other US visas like those for official, business student travel and tourism.

The suspension of immigrant visas became effective as a result of review and update of the methodology adopted by the United States Government in order to assess compliance of certain security criteria by foreign governments. Also it became effect on how information is shared between Nigeria and US.

It was gathered that Nigeria remains commited to maintaining productive relations with the United States and  its international allies mostly on issues of global security.

The Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari has already established a committee to be chaired by the Honourable Minister of interior to study and address the US updated requirements.

The Nigerian committee plans to work with the United States Government, Interpol and other stakeholders inorder to ensure that the updated requirements are properly implemented.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Download our app