Saturday, September 28, 2019


The leaders of Economic West African States (ECOWAS) have adopted a new currency called 'Eco' to be used in the region comes 2020.

The aim of this new currency was one of the plans to make Africa a more integrated continent and to boost economic development in western region. It was officially announced on Saturday at the end of ECOWAS meeting in Abuja. 

The countries that are meant to adopt this currency are: Niger, Nigeria, Guince, Senegal, Gamble, Ghana, Mali, Sierra, Benin, Burkina Faso, Togo, Liberia, Guince Bissau, Sierra Leone, Cote d'voire. They have population of three hundred and eight five million people.

This new currency called Eco was meant to be launched in 2010 but the date has been postponed severally, finally it is fixed on January 2020.

The new currency 'Eco' will be working with West African Monitory Agencies, West African Monitory Institute and Central Bank for speeding up comes 2020.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Download our app